Eastern Cyclo-Cross - Final Round 2015/16

Gold Standard for Harley

CX TrinityThe final race of this season’s Eastern Cyclo Cross League saw another bumper turnout from the Wheelers, this time at Trinity Park Ipswich on Sunday.  A new course provided ample scope for some hard racing along the extended tarmac straights before riders took on the compact but technical hilly section.  The racer also confirmed final league placings and medal winners, with top effort going to U10 Harley Gregory whose second place on the day capped a superb season’s racing with a well deserved gold medal.

Also in the U10 race, Caris Gregory had a fine debit for 25th and 1st U8 girl, while Lucas Denny was next over the line in 26th.  In the U12 race, Matthew Waller raced well for 14th The youth race saw Thomas Macro (39th) and Lianna Denny (43rd and 11th overall) both end the season well, with further encouraging debuts from Emily Waller (46th) and Megan Free (47th).



CX Trinity

In the combined Men’s 50+ and Women’s race, Barry Denny, despite taking a well-deserved day off, also saw his season’s efforts rewarded, this time with silver in the Men’s 60+ category.  The race saw the evergreen Paul Watson, showing no signs of fatigue from his previous day’s efforts on the mountain bike, finish the season in style in 6th giving him 7th spot in the overall standings. Despite carrying an injury, Peter Golding still finished in 19th.

Adrian Grimwood also saved best for last, and will be pleased with 32nd. Paul Sawyer (49th), David Griggs (51st), Darren Baker (56th) and Tracey Griggs (59th) all worked hard. Special mention to Tracey, her first full year of racing saw her rewarded with 5th woman in her age category.



CX Trinity

The men’s 40-49 race finished with Mike Bowen in 8th (9th overall), Matt Shingleton (21st), Matt Denny (32nd), Richard Stiff (46th), Ian Mortlock (56th), Stu Grand (59th) and Giles Prime (67th). Scott Williams put in a hard ride for 56th in the senior race.  Overall, the season’s efforts were rewarded with 7th in the club league standings.

Last Updated (Monday, 25 January 2016 17:48)